Interview: Åke Eriksson(Wasa Express)
Interview Åke Eriksson(Wasa Express): On with the Action/Till Attack/Schack Matt/Psychedelic Jazz Trance . Åke Eriksson interview December 2004.
From left to right: Ken Sundberg– bass, Âke Eriksson – drums, Thomas Berglund– guitar and Bosse Hallgren – keyboards.
1977 Wasa Express

The band released their first album 'Wasa Express' in 1977.

01. January Man
02. Son of a Peach
03. Masseur
04. Doing the Kopraal
05. Woog-Boog
06. Cadillac
07. New Tuna
08. Brother Wet
09. Mr. Curry
10. Adventure

  - What do you think about your debut album?
  'A classic ! It still stands today.'
- Favourite Song(and why)?
  'Mr. Curry ,New Tuna andDoing the Kopraal just good melodic compositions . We still do them live .'

- Any anecdotes /special memories from the recording sessions?
  'I remember hearing the Eagles across the bay from decibel studios . They were gigging at Gröna Lund !!

1978 On with the Action

The band released their second album in 1978.


01. On With the Action
02. Thunderbird
03. Get Up
04. California
05. Doing the Heavy Hannibal
06. Surfing Matilda
07. The Return of Djingis
08. Moonlight Grotesk
09. Son of a Peach
10. Doing the Kopraal
11. Memories

  - In general what do you think about the album?
  'A typical schizofrenic 70´s album . With everything but the kitchen sink thrown in ! That´s also the charm with it.'

- Favourite Song(and why)?
  'Heavy Hannibal and The Return of Djingis. We play a suite of those two mixed together nowadays.

- Any anecdotes /special memories from the recording sessions?
  'Hallgren trying to sound like a sequencer in the days when we didn´t even know what that was! We had heard all those Giorgio Moroder produced Disco tracks from Munich . And tried to duplicate it manually !'

1978 Till Attack

The band released their third album in 1978.


1. Kom Ut I Kväll
2. 7 Rooms of Gloom
3. Jag Är Bäst
4. In I Dimman
5. Penthouse Rock
6. Shake That Boogie
7. Play On
8. Den Finska Solen
9. California Sun

  - And now, what about your third album, Till Attack?
  'Good rock album . We had a singer by then and our best seller at the time . These days it´s the first and last album people are asking for . Which is a good sign !'

- Favourite Song(and why)?
  'In i dimman is the ultimate mix of jazz-rock and rock to me .

- Any anecdotes /special memories from the recording sessions?
  'We recorded it in ABBA's Polar studios. Cary tried to pick up Agneta , he was a real ladies man, but didn´t succed I´m sorry to say .'

1979 Schack Matt

The band released their fourth album in 1978.


1. Schack Matt
2. Borderline
3. 1-2-3
4. Devil's Danceland
5. Midnight to Six Man
6. A Teenage Werewolf
7. Slow Down
8. Work with Me Annie
9. A Question of Temperature
10. Wang Dang Boom Slang
11. The Cocovoodoobana Song

  - The album Schack Matt(CheckMate), released 1979 was also CheckMate for the band ?
  'Yes, this was the end of the line for us . A confused band that didn´t know what direction to go .'

- Favourite Song(and why)?
  'Teenage Werewolf, we still do it sometimes .

- Any anecdotes /special memories from the recording sessions?
  'There really wasn´t any good vibes involved in this album.'

2004 Psychedelic Jazz Trance

The band released their latest album in 2004.


01. Psychedelic Jazz Trance
02. Afrodisiac
03. The Gate to Lohengrin
04. Gentle Wabes Through Outer Space
05. Skating on the Rays of the Midnight Sun
06. Six Appeal
07. Dancing on the Edge of Cloud 9
08. Psychotronic Mindexpanders Mindless Boogie

  - ..and then 26 years later a brilliant release, Psychedelic Jazz Trance, wow!
  'Unbelievable to be back ! It started out as a solo album for me . But ended up as a Wasa album . I like it . It´s back to where we started with the first album again . Melodic heavy jazz-rock that´s been dead and buried for 25 years ! What a commercial potential !'

- Favourite Song(and why)?
  'Gentle Waves and Psychedelic Jazz Trance

- Any anecdotes /special memories from the recording sessions?
  'We did it just for fun and I think that shows .'

Wasa Express Links 

  Wasa Express Official Site